Bitten By the Marathon Bug

On January 15, 2012, I ran my first marathon. Check it out:

Mile 22 - Running by my sister's house where she and all of my friends were cheering!

Rewinding back to May when I signed up, I never thought the day could actually come. But it did. I ran my first marathon in 3 hours, 39 minutes and 25 seconds. I am 4 minutes and 25 seconds too slow to qualify for Boston…. this time. Now that I’ve completed my first marathon (on my 23rd birthday!), I’m ready to get out and hit the trails (and track) to improve my speed and fitness for my next marathon. Yes, I just said it, I will do another one. And it will be this year.

I hope to keep this blog up to track my training, so I can see better how I am using my time each week and to see where improvements may be made. I also want to keep up with this blog in order to join the onlineĀ running community I have been following for about a year now.

I wrote the above a few days ago. As of yesterday, I will be running the Rock ‘n’ Roll San Diego Marathon on June 3. I am SO pumped. Although I got a little sick of running toward the end of my training for the Houston marathon, the runner’s high post marathon has carried over into week two post-marathon. Post-marathon blues left me without a plan and without a goal. I don’t like not having a plan or goal to work toward. Plus, there’s a marathon in one of my favorite cities in the world in roughly 19 weeks. This couldn’t be more perfect!

So here we go. Tomorrow I start running more often (it’s taken me a bit to recover), tomorrow I start blogging about my training/ life in training, tomorrow it’s on! For about 1,000 reasons so far, which I cannot share yet, I can already tell that 2012 is going to be an amazing, life changing year!

Oh, and here’s another picture of me crossing the finish line, holding a special someone’s hand! We met on the marathon course and we were holding hands by the end!! I kid, I kid, although that would be hilarious. (He jumped in with me for the last 10 miles!!):

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Bitten By the Marathon Bug

  1. David Haas

    Hi,
    I have a quick question about your blog, do you think you could email me?
    David

Leave a Reply

